inspirational breezes

February 17, 2012

From time to time, I plan to post some of my favorite poems and quotes to share with you. These are the words which I have written on the walls and windows of the greentreehouse, so that their inspiration becomes part of my every breath.

I hope you will enjoy them, too.

I dwell in Possibility – (466)

BY EMILY DICKINSON

I dwell in Possibility –
A fairer House than Prose –
More numerous of Windows –
Superior – for Doors –

Of Chambers as the Cedars –
Impregnable of eye –
And for an everlasting Roof
The Gambrels of the Sky –

Of Visitors – the fairest –
For Occupation – This –
The spreading wide my narrow Hands
To gather Paradise –

 
Reprinted electronically by permission of the publishers and the Trustees of Amherst College from The Poems of Emily Dickinson, Ralph W. Franklin, ed., Cambridge, Mass.: The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, Copyright © 1951, 1955, 1979, 1983, 1998 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College.

Source: The Poems of Emily Dickinson Edited by R. W. Franklin (Harvard University Press, 1999)

***Please support The Poetry Foundation***
http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/182904
2 Responses to “inspirational breezes”

  1. Cullen Hornaday Says:

    Lovely poem…I will send you a couple of recent favorites.
    thank you, fellow poetry lover!

  2. Amy Ostertag Says:

    She is my favorite of all time!


Leave a Reply

